Contact Information for Filing Institutional Complaints

Complaint Resolution

Oberlin College’s mission is to provide high quality, relevant education enabling the broadest possible community of learners to achieve their goals and enrich the world. However, if a conflict does arise, students are encouraged to reach out to appropriate personnel to discuss concerns, grievances and complaints. Issues related to academic courses should be raised first with the instructor, then the instructor’s department chair, and finally the instructor’s dean, if necessary. In addition, the College of Arts & Sciences and the Conservatory have complaint procedures to resolve concerns related to academic programs including grade grievances, for example. The Consumer Information Document  provides information on how to file complaints related to any topic identified.

For any consumer protection compliance issue that has not been addressed to your satisfaction, you should contact the Campus Hotline at 1-866-943-5787. If an issue cannot be resolved by Oberlin College’s internal processes, students may choose to file a complaint with the Ohio Department of Higher Education . Students who reside in other states may appeal to their state of residence. Please see below to find the contact information for each state agency that would handle the complaint. You may also contact our accrediting agency, the Higher Learning Commission .

Nondiscrimination Policy Statement

Oberlin College prohibits discrimination and harassment based on the following categories: race, color, sex, marital status, religion, creed, national origin, disability, age, military or veteran status, sexual orientation, family relationship to an employee of Oberlin College, genetic information, and gender identity and expression. The Sexual Misconduct Policy prohibits gender harassment and sexual misconduct, intimate partner violence, and stalking. In addition to describing conduct that is prohibited by the college, these policies explain reporting and resolution options for people who experience discrimination and harassment. The college’s nondiscrimination policies and processes are consistent with applicable federal and state law. If you need support or assistance related to the impact of any form of discrimination and harassment prohibited by these policies on your education or work, please contact the Office of Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion at (440) 775-8555 or . You can also make a report online .

The Higher Learning Commission
230 South LaSalle Street, Suite7-500
Chicago, IL 60604

States Contact Information for State Agency
Alabama Alabama Department of Postsecondary Education
Alabama Community College System
Private School Licensure Division
Alaska Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education
Arizona Arizona State Board for Private Postsecondary Education
Arkansas Arkansas Department of Higher Education
California State of California Department of Consumer Affairs 
Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education
Colorado Colorado Department of Higher Education
Connecticut Connecticut Office of Higher Education
Delaware Delaware Department of Education
District of Columbia Office of the State Superintendent of Education
Florida Florida Department of Education Commission for Independent Education
Georgia Georgia Nonpublic Postsecondary Education Commission
Hawaii Hawaii Post-Secondary Education Authorization Program
Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs
Idaho Idaho State Board of Education
Illinois Illinois Board of Higher Education
Indiana Indiana Commission for Higher Education
Iowa Iowa College Student Aid Commission
Kansas Kansas Board of Regents
Kentucky  Kentucky Council on Postsecondary Education
Louisiana  Office of the Attorney General, State of Louisiana
Maine State of Maine Department of Education
Maryland Maryland Higher Education Commission
Massachusetts Massachusetts Department of Higher Education
Michigan Michigan Department of Licensing & Regulatory Affairs
Minnesota Minnesota Office of Higher Education
Mississippi Mississippi Commission on College Accreditation
Missouri Missouri Department of Higher Education
Montana Montana Board of Regents
Nebraska Nebraska’s Coordinating Commission for Postsecondary Education
Nevada Nevada Commission on Postsecondary Education
New Hampshire New Hampshire Department of Education
New Jersey State of New Jersey Office of the Secretary of Higher Education
New Mexico New Mexico Higher Education Department
New York New York State Education Department
Office of College and University Evaluation
North Carolina University of North Carolina General Administration
North Dakota Richard Rothaus, PhD., Vice Chancellor of Academic and Student Affairs
600 East Boulevard Ave
Bismarck, ND 58501-1217
Ohio Ohio Department of Higher Education
Oklahoma Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education
Oregon Oregon Department of Justice
Financial Fraud/Consumer Protection Section
Pennsylvania Pennsylvania Department of Education
Division of Higher and Career Education
Rhode Island Rhode Island Board of Governors for Higher
South Carolina South Carolina Commission on Higher Education
South Dakota South Dakota Office of the Attorney General
Tennessee Tennessee Higher Education Commission
Texas Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
Utah Utah Division of Consumer Protection
Vermont Vermont Agency of Education
Virginia  State Council of Higher Education for Virginia
Washington Washington Student Achievement Council
West Virginia West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission
Wisconsin Wisconsin Educational Approval Board
Wyoming Wyoming Department of Education