Violin 2022

Thomas and Evon Cooper Competition at Oberlin.

SUNday, August 14, through Friday, AUGUST 19, 2022

About the Competition

The Thomas and Evon Cooper International Competition brings some of the world’s most talented young musicians to the campus of Oberlin College and Conservatory every summer. Alternating years feature a competition for violinists and a competition for pianists.

The Cooper Competition for Violin returns in 2022 with a revised format.


Young violinists (ages 13-18) who have not yet enrolled in college, and who have not won one of the top three prizes in a previous Cooper competition are eligible to perform. The field of participants will be limited to 20 violinists.

Learn more about the rules and see Frequently Asked Questions.

Participant Support

Loding and meals will be provided for the participating violinist during the week of the competition.

Eligible travel expenses for each participant will be reimbursed by the competition.

Learn more about competition expenses and participant financial support.

Competition Rounds

All rounds of the competition will take place in Oberlin Conservatory’s Warner Concert Hall and are open to the public.

All rounds beginning on August 15 and running through August 20, as well as the Honor's Recital on August 18, will be streamed live online at

Three finalists will perform full concertos with the Canton Symphony Orchestra at 7:30 p.m. on Friday, August 19.


First Prize: $20,000
Second Prize: $10,000
Third Prize: $5,000
Fourth, Fifth, and Sixth Prizes: $1,500 each
Audience Prize: $500

The top three finalists will be awarded full four-year tuition scholarships to Oberlin Conservatory, pending admission.

Additional Awards

A top-three prize winner will have the opportunity of a two-year loan of a rare Italian violin from Jonathan Solars Fine Violins.

In partnership with MKI Artists, the 2022 Cooper Competition First Prize winner will be presented in up to ten concerto and recital engagements throughout the United States during the 2022-23 and 2023-24 seasons.

The first-prize winner will receive exclusive rights to the premiere and subsequent performances for a period of two years of a new six-minute work for violin and orchestra composed by Jeff Scott.

Follow us on Facebook.