Office of the President

Selection of the AAPR Steering Committee

April 25, 2018

Dear Faculty, Staff, and Students,

The General Faculty Council and I are pleased to announce that the Academic and Administrative Program Review Steering Committee has been selected, with the exception of two slots reserved for members of Oberlin’s Board of Trustees.

The committee consists of 33 members representing faculty, staff, students, alumni, and trustees of Oberlin College and the Conservatory. Sixteen of the committee members are faculty. President Ambar will serve as ex-officio chair.  We hope that our steering committee’s first meeting will be held on Friday, May 4, but we are still in the process of organizing this first session.

Those selected to serve were nominated by the GFC, the College Faculty Council, the Conservatory Faculty Council, members of the General Faculty, as well as the Student Senate, the Oberlin Alumni Association, and the Board of Trustees. 

The members of the AAPR Steering Committee are​1:

  • Brian Alegant, Professor of Music Theory and Director, Division of Music Theory
  • Carmen Twillie Ambar, President
  • Corey Barnes ’98, Associate Professor and Chair of Religion
  • Cristina Briboneria ’05, Alumni Leadership Council at-large member  
  • Ron Cheung, Associate Professor and Chair of Economics
  • Kameron Dunbar ’19, Student Senate
  • Tim Elgren, Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences
  • Sebastiaan Faber, Professor and Chair of Hispanic Studies
  • Cindy Frantz, Professor of Psychology and Environmental Studies
  • Mary Garvin, Professor of Biology 
  • Aaron Goldman, Assistant Professor of Biology
  • Alexia Hudson-Ward, Azariah Smith Root Director of Libraries
  • Caroline Jackson-Smith, Professor of Theater and Africana Studies, Chair of Theater
  • Ben Jones ’96, Vice President for Communications
  • Leslie Joseph ’06, Director, Audiovisual Services
  • Andrea Kalyn, Dean of the Conservatory
  • Sadie Keller, Class of 2019
  • Wendy Kozol ’80, Professor of Comparative American Studies and Affiliate of GSFS
  • Michael Parkin, Professor of Politics
  • Charles Peterson, Associate Professor of Africana Studies
  • Nick Petzak, Director, Fellowships and Awards
  • Meredith Raimondo, Vice President and Dean of Students
  • Greg Ristow ’00, Assistant Professor of Conducting, Director of Vocal Ensembles
  • Renee Romano, Professor of History, Comparative American Studies, and Africana Studies, Chair of History, Affiliate of the Gender, Sexuality, and Feminist Studies
  • Alexa Still, Associate Professor of Flute
  • Peter Swendsen ’98, Associate Professor of Computer Music and Digital Arts, Chair of TIMARA
  • Rebecca Vazquez-Skillings, Vice President of Finance and Administration
  • Joe Vitale, Chief Human Resources Officer
  • Natalie Winkelfoos, Delta Lodge Director of Athletics and Physical Education
  • Jeff Witmer, Professor of Mathematics
  • Janet Wu, Class of 2020

Carmen Twillie Ambar

1. Since this document was published, there have been changes to the committee membership. See Committee Members for the current list.