The Environmental Studies Program Committee (ESPC) is the governing body for the program. Its membership is comprised of faculty and staff from a range of departments who oversee and lead the program’s activities.

The 2018-19 Committee includes:

Rumi Shammin, chair Environmental studies
Paul Brehm  Economics
Cheryl Cottine  Religion
Matt Elrod  Chemistry
Janet Fiskio  Environmental studies
Cindy Frantz  Psychology
Roger Laushman  Biology
Tom Newlin  Russian
Karl Offen  Environmental Studies
Christie Parris  Sociology
Swapna Pathak  Environmental studies
John Petersen  Environmental studies
Chie Sakakibara  Environmental studies (on leave 18-19)
Amanda Schmidt  Geology
Ann Sherif  East Asian studies
Peter Swendsen  TIMARA, Oberlin Conservatory

ESPC faculty members serve as advisors to Environmental Studies majors and can sponsor interested students who wish to pursue private readings and research projects for academic credit or pursue senior honors research.

Environmental Studies majors also have representation on the ESPC. Each year, 2-3 students are elected to serve on the committee as student representatives. ES student reps serve as community organizers, fostering community among the ES program majors and faculty through formal events and casual get togethers. They also attend the weekly ESPC meetings, act as a resource and advocate for ES majors, minors, and prospective students, facilitate discussions between students and faculty, and manage student rep elections. 

The 2018-19 ESPC Student Reps
Ramsha Babar ’19  Environmental studies and Economics
Ananya Gupta ’20  Environmental studies and English
Amy Wang ’20  Environmental studies and Theater