How to Obtain an Ohio Driver’s License

This web page offers basic information about obtaining an OHIO driver’s license. For details on Ohio traffic laws and signs, as well as written and driving test requirements, please refer to the Digest of Motor Vehicle Laws.  Regulations and fees may change without notice; always confirm your understanding with the Department of Motor Vehicles.

First-time Driver’s License

  • Must purchase a temporary permit package
  • Must provide identification to prove date of birth and social security number if assigned - acceptable documents are listed in the Digest booklet
  • If the student is not a US citizen, additional proof of residency is required - passport, I-94, and I-20.
  • The temporary packet costs $22 - some locations cash or check only.
  • Written exam and vision screening - no appointment necessary, no extra cost
  • Driving and maneuverability tests - appointment required, usually at least 2 weeks before the desired date, no extra cost
  • Cost to have a first-time OHIO driver's license issued is between $19.55 and $24.25 depending on age - some locations by cash or check only

Out-of-State Conversion

If you have a driver’s license from another US state:

  • Must present out-of-state driver’s license
  • Must provide proof of social security number if assigned
  • Written exam and vision screening - no appointment necessary
  • Cost is $10.25 - some locations cash or check only

Out-of-Country Conversion

If you have a driver’s license from another country:

  • Must present out-of-country driver's license
  • Must provide proof of social security number if assigned
  • Written exam and vision screening - no appointment necessary
  • Driving and maneuverability tests - appointment required
  • Some cases will require the purchase of a temporary permit packet - call beforehand for more information

Driving Lessons

If you have never driven a car before, you are required to take driving lessons with a licensed driver 21 years of age or older, which could be a relative, a friend, or a professional driving instructor. For information on driving schools in the Oberlin area, refer to the Oberlin Yellow Pages and or the Lorain County Yellow Pages under "Driving." Some students use Winter Term to learn how to drive! Contact the ISRC for more details.

Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV)


Related Documents