Six Faculty Receive 2021-2022 Excellence in Teaching Honors

March 14, 2023

Communications Staff

David Kamitsuka, President Carmen Twillie Ambar, Keith Tarvin, Megan Kaes Long, Ana Maria Diaz Burgos, Renee Romano, Bill Quillen.
From left: Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences David Kamitsuka; President Carmen Twillie Ambar; Keith Tarvin, Megan Kaes Long, Ana Maria Diaz Burgos, Renee Romano, and Dean of the Conservatory Bill Quillen.
Photo credit: John Seyfried

Oberlin College and Conservatory has recognized six faculty members with Excellence in Teaching Awards for the 2021-22 academic year.

The recipients are Ana María Díaz Burgos, associate professor of Hispanic studies; Megan Kaes Long, associate professor of music theory; Bryan Parkhurst, assistant professor of music theory and aural skills; Renee Romano, Robert S. Danforth Professor of History; Keith Tarvin, professor emeritus of biology; and Dang Thai Son, professor of piano.  

The annual Excellence in Teaching Award recognizes faculty in the college and conservatory who have demonstrated sustained and distinctive excellence in their teaching at the college and conservatory. An award is given in each division of the college (arts and humanities, social and behavioral sciences, and natural sciences and mathematics). The College Faculty Council solicits nominations, which are then reviewed by a faculty committee. The conservatory dean recommends six to seven conservatory faculty to the Conservatory Faculty Council, and together they review and narrow the list of recommendations to three recipients.

A ceremony was held for the recipients on February 28 at President Carmen Twillie Ambar’s home. In the coming days, we will feature individual award winners. 

You may also like…