Economics Awards and Prizes

The Department of Economics presents awards each academic year to exceptional students who’ve completed coursework, research projects, or internships.

  • Albert Rees ’43 Fellowship/Prize: Awarded as a Fellowship (internship) or Prize.
  • Comfort Starr Prize in Economics: Awarded to a junior economics major.
  • Hanson Prize in Economics: Awarded for an essay or special work in economics.
  • Honors in Economics: Awarded to select seniors who have participated in the department’s year-long, invitation-only seminar program, and those who have demonstrated outstanding economic research and possess impressive academic records.
  • Jesse Philips ’39 Prize in Economics: Awarded to an outstanding economics major in his/her junior year.
  • Joel Dean Prize in Economics: Awarded to a graduating senior who has done the most distinguished work during their Oberlin career.
  • TK '76 Prize in Economics: For outstanding research in economics by a senior student.
  • Omicron Delta Epsilon, Alpha Theta Chapter of Ohio: Nominees are admitted to the international society for economics.
  • Phi Beta Kappa: Nominees are admitted to the nation’s most prestigious academic honor society.