East Asian Studies

Scholarships and Funding

East Asian Studies offers many different scholarships, both to reward students for academic achievement as well as to assist them in studying abroad to further their language and cultural education. The current scholarships are:

Study Abroad Scholarships

An Family Scholarship 

Established by An Byung-lak, his daughter Sookjwa An ’88, and son-in-law Peter Ihm ’88 to help promote a Korean studies program at Oberlin, the An Family Korean Language Summer Study Scholarship allows East Asian Studies to sponsor 3–4 students to study abroad in Seoul in a Korean language program of their choice for a summer. This scholarship offers a way to help students complete the Korean concentration major. Applications open in the spring semester in late February or early March.

Download An Family Scholarship flyer

Chinese Government Scholarship 

The Chinese Government Scholarship is available to two Oberlin seniors per year who are nominated and approved to study at a Chinese University upon graduation. Students apply through the East Asian Studies department in order to be nominated for the program. Applications open in the spring semester.

Download Chinese government scholarship flyer

Levine Scholarship 

Established by Gregory Levine, an alumnus of the college and current professor of art and architecture at the University of California, Berkley, the Gregory Levine Fellowship is aimed at assisting students to extend their stay in Japan after their study abroad program has finished. Students can use this scholarship to conduct research or explore a topic or activity of interest. Applications open in the spring semester in late February.

Previous Levine Scholarship Awardees:

  • 2017 - Zheng Xun
  • 2018 - Vivian Dutton
  • 2019 - Annie Zheng
  • 2020 - Noah Kawaguchi, Jackie Valentine
  • 2023 - Suvan Agarwal

Levine Scholarship flyer

Download Levine Scholarship application

Academic Prizes

Dicenzo Prize

Established by Ron DiCenzo, emeritus professor of East Asian Studies, in honor of his mother, the Margaret Ribovich DiCenzo Prize for Academic Excellence in East Asian Studies is awarded annually to qualified graduating students who are majoring in EAS. The prize is awarded by EAS faculty on the basis of scholastic achievement. Candidates are picked based on academic record, so student don’t need to apply, just study hard.

Newton Prize 

Established by Mr. Yeijiro Ono in memory of Professor Jame K. Newton, the annual Newton Prize competition is open to all students in the College and Conservatory. Monetary prizes are awarded for the best essays, research papers, translations, or other works on Asian themes that promote better understanding between East and West. Works submitted are evaluated by the East Asian Studies faculty. Applications open in spring semester in March.

Download Newton Prize application