Three Truman Scholarship Finalists Named

February 28, 2018

Communications Staff

the edge of the roof of a building
Photo credit: Yvonne Gay

Sadie Keller, Kieran Minor, and Meg Parker are three of the 194 students from across the country who have been named finalists for the Harry S. Truman Scholarship.

Third-years Sadie Keller, Kieran Minor, and Meg Parker have been named finalists for the Harry S. Truman Scholarship, the premier graduate scholarship for aspiring public service leaders in the United States. The students were selected based on their records of leadership, public service, and academic achievement.

“Being named a Truman Scholarship Finalist is an enormous achievement,” says Director of Fellowships and Awards, Nick Petzak. “Every institution of higher education in the U.S. is invited to nominate up to four juniors with exemplary records. The application itself is among the most demanding for undergraduate fellowships competitions, requiring months of work to summarize experiences and present a detailed, data-driven, and coherent 10-15 year plan for becoming a  ‘change agent.’”

Each new Truman Scholar receives up to $30,000 for graduate study. Scholars also receive priority admission and supplemental financial aid at some premier graduate institutions, leadership training, career and graduate school counseling, and special internship opportunities within the federal government.

The Truman Foundation was created by Congress in 1975 as the living memorial to President Truman and the Presidential Memorial to Public Service. The Foundation’s mission is premised on the belief that a better future relies on attracting to public service the commitment and sound judgment of bright, outstanding Americans.

This year, the Foundation reviewed 756 applications from 313 institutions. The Truman Finalist Selection Committee chose 194 students from 137 institutions. Finalists will be interviewed by the Foundation's Regional Review Panels between March 2 and April 6, and the 2018 Truman Scholars will be announced by 9 p.m. EST on April 20, 2018.

You may also like…

Oberlin a Top Producer of Fulbright Students for 2023-24

February 13, 2024

On February 13, 2024, The Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs of the U.S. Department of State recognized Oberlin College and Conservatory as a Top Producer of Fulbright Students for the 15th consecutive year.
a photo of Oberlin College on a sunny day