Professor of Conducting Robert Spano Leads Fall Convocation Series

September 6, 2017

Communications Staff

Robert Spano ’84
Robert Spano ’84 is professor of conducting and music director of the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra.
Photo credit: Angela Morris

Robert Spano '84 is a Grammy Award-winning conductor, pianist, and teacher. 

Grammy Award-winning conductor, pianist, composer, and teacher Robert Spano ’84 will kick off the 2017-18 Convocation Series.

Spano, who is a professor of conducting in the Conservatory of Music, will speak at 7:30 p.m. Thursday, September 14, in Finney Chapel. The event is free and open to the public, no ticket required.

A 1984 graduate from the conservatory, Spano is known worldwide for his intense artistry and distinct communicative ability. Now in his 17th season as music director of the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra (ASO), he is responsible for nurturing the careers of numerous celebrated composers, conductors, and performers. Spano has led ASO performances at world-renowned concert halls across the globe, guest conducted for numerous orchestras, and has led the ASO to six Grammy Awards. He is one of two classical musicians inducted into the Georgia Music Hall of Fame.

In a conversation that will be moderated by Conservatory Dean Andrea Kalyn, Spano will speak about the "State of the Art," drawing on his successful career with the Atlanta Symphony and Aspen Music Festival and School, and offering perspectives on the innovative ways new generations of musicians are forging careers in the arts.

The fall convocation series continues with a lecture by author and activist Terry Tempest Williams on November 17.

The Oberlin Convocation Series, presented under the auspices of the Finney Lecture Committee and the Office of the President, presents free, public discussions of cutting-edge issues by some of the country’s most prominent thinkers from an array of disciplines and professional fields.

More events can be found on the Oberlin Arts Guide.


You may also like…

Nik Divall ’24 Earns Fulbright to Germany

July 2, 2024

Fulbright study/research award winner Nik Divall ’24 plans to spend the 2024-2025 academic year pursuing a master’s degree in historical performance in the German port city of Bremen.
Nik Divall holding Lute