Cleveland Orchestra Opens 2018-19 Artist Recital Series Sept. 21

September 13, 2018

Erich Burnett

view of cleveland orchestra string section on Finney Chapel stage
Photo credit: Roger Mastroianni

Program to feature Tchaikovsky's Swan Lake and piano soloist Alexandre Tharaud.

At the dawn of its second century, the beloved Cleveland Orchestra continues an Oberlin tradition forged in its earliest days: Since 1919, the ensemble has delighted audiences on campus more than 240 times.

This year’s visit happens at 7:30 p.m. Friday, September 21, in Oberlin’s historic Finney Chapel.

Alexandre Tharaud
Alexandre Tharaud

Now in its 101st season, the orchestra will be led by Music Director Franz Welser-Möst in a program that opens their concert season and includes piano soloist Alexandre Tharaud performing the otherworldly concerto Left, alone. The piece was written by Danish composer Hans Abrahamsen, whose cerebral palsy—limiting him to the use of only two fingers in his right hand—inspired him to create works exclusively for the left hand.

The evening will begin with Pantheon for orchestra by assistant principal oboist Jeffrey Rathbun, commissioned by the Cleveland Orchestra specially for the 2018-19 season. The program concludes with Tchaikovsky’s iconic Suite from Swan Lake, which has never before been performed in the 140-year history of the Oberlin Artist Recital Series.

"When you think about ballet, the first picture that comes to mind is a ballerina in a white tutu dancing to the music of Tchaikovsky’s Swan Lake," says Raphael Jiménez, Oberlin's director of orchestras. "Tchaikovsky was a melodic genius, and his famous oboe tune sticks with us forever—one of those melodies in minor that puts us in a gloomy mood difficult to describe. Those who have not heard the ending of the ballet will be surprised by this famous melody coming back in major mode, with the full force of the entire orchestra celebrating the transcendent power of love."

Tickets for The Cleveland Orchestra at Oberlin are $35 ($30 for seniors, Oberlin staff, and alumni), and all student tickets are just $10. Season ticket packages and Pick 3 options are also available. Learn more by calling 800-371-0178, stop by Oberlin’s Central Ticket Service (67 N. Main St.) from noon to 5 p.m. weekdays, or purchase through Oberlin's online arts guide.

The Artist Recital Series continues Sunday, October 14, with a 2:30 p.m. performance featuring Grammy Award-winning violinist James Ehnes and pianist Andrew Armstrong.

You may also like…

Keeping Creation Collaborative with Silkroad

April 10, 2024

Percussionist Haruka Fujii and friends elevate women composers and their cultural influences on the Silkroad Ensemble’s “Uplifted Voices” program, coming to Oberlin’s Artist Recital Series.
six artists, female and non-binary, onstage playing various instruments