Portrait photo
  • Professor of Neuroscience
  • Director, Pre-Medical Program


  • BS, SUNY College at Buffalo
  • MA, SUNY at Buffalo
  • PhD, SUNY at Buffalo


Lynne Bianchi is a professor of neuroscience and specializes in developmental neurobiology and the auditory system. She is also the full time advisor and programming director for students and alumni from all majors interested in pursuing graduate programs in medicine or allied health fields. She joined Oberlin College in 1998, began working with premed students in 2011, and became Premedical Program Director in 2014. Lynne received her PhD in Anatomy and Cell Biology. Prior to Oberlin she worked as a research scientist at a biotech company in New York and in the Department of Otolaryngology at the Medical University of South Carolina.

Select Publications

Peer Reviewed Publications

Fiorino, F; Gratton, MA; Subanna, M; Bianchi, LM; and Henderson, D (1989). Physiological mechanism underlying the progressive resistance to noise-induced hearing loss. Proc. Intl. Symp. Cochlear Mechanics and Echoes , 54, suppl. 1, 36-49.

Danielson, RW; Henderson, D; Gratton, MA, Bianchi, LM; and Salvi, RJ (1990). The importance of "temporal pattern" in traumatic impulse noise exposures. J. Acoust. Soc. Am., 90, 209-218.

Bianchi, LM and Cohan, CS (1991). Developmental regulation of a neurite-promoting factor influencing statoacoustic neurons. Dev. Brain Res., 64, 167-174.

Bianchi, LM and Cohan, CS (1993). Effects of the neurotrophins and CNTF on developing statoacoustic neurons: Comparison with an otocyst-derived factor. Dev. Biol., 159, 353-365.

Conover, JC; Erickson, JT; Katz, DM; Bianchi, LM; Poueymirou, WT; McClain, JL; Pan, L; Helgren, M; Ip, NY; Boland, P; Friedman, B; Weigand, S; Vejsada, R; Kato, A; and Yancopoulos, GD. (1995). Neuronal deficits, not involving motor neurons, in mice lacking BDNF and/or NT4 Nature, 375, 235-238.

Bianchi, LM; Conover, JC; Fritzsch, B., DeChiara, T., Lindsay, RM and Yancopoulos, GD.(1996). Degeneration of vestibular neurons in late embryogenesis of both heterozygous and homozygous BDNF null mutant mice. Development, 122, 1965-1973.

Bianchi, LM; Dolnik, R; Medd, AM; and Cohan, CS (1998). Developmental changes in growth factors produced by the embryonic inner ear. Exptl. Neurol., 150, 98-106

Bianchi, LM and Gale, NW (1998). Distribution of Eph-Related Molecules in the Developing and Mature Cochlea. Hear. Res., 117, 161-172.

Bianchi, LM and Liu, H (1999). Comparison of Ephrin-A ligand and EphA receptor distribution in the developing inner ear. Anat. Rec., 254, 127-134.

Bianchi, LM; Lui, H, Krug, EK and Capehart, AC (1999). Selective and transient expression of a native chondroitin sulfate epitope in Deiters' cells, Pillar cells and the developing tectorial membrane. Anat. Rec. 256: 64-71.

Medd, AM and Bianchi, LM (2000). Analysis of BDNF production in the Aging Inner ear. Exptl. Neurol. 169: 390-393

Cowan, C; Yokoyama, N; Bianchi, LM; Henkemeyer, M; and Fritzsch, B. (2000) EphB2 tyrosine kinase activity guides axons at the midline and is necessary for normal vestibular function Neuron 26: 417-430.

Cunningham, CD, Schulte, BA, Bianchi, LM, Weber, PC and Schmiedt, BN (2001) Microwave decalcification of human temporal bones. Laryngoscope, 111, 278-282.

Haung, EJ, Liu, W, Fritzsch, B, Bianchi, LM, Reichardt, LF and Xiang, M (2001) Brn-3a is a transcriptional regulator of soma size, target field innervation and axon pathfinding of inner ear sensory neurons. Development, 128, 2421-2432.

Bianchi, LM; *Person, AL; *Penney, EB (2002). Embryonic inner ear Cells reaggregate into specific patterns in vitro. JARO, 3, 418-429.

Bianchi,, LM, *Dinsio, K, *Davoli, K and Gale, NW (2002). LacZ histochemistry and immunochemistry reveal ephrin-B ligand expression in the inner ear. J Histochem Cytochem. 50, 1641-1645

Bianchi, LM and *Gray, NG. (2002). Developing statoacoustic ganglion nerve fibers express ephrin-B1 and are inhibited by EphB receptors Eur J Neurosci . 16,1499-1506.

Bianchi, LM, *Daruwalla, Z, Roth, T.M., Attia, N., Lukacs, N.W. *Richards, A-L , Roth, TM, Lukacs, NW, *White, IO, Allen, SJ and Barald, KF (2005) Immortalized Mouse Inner Ear Cell Lines Reveal a Role for Chemokines in Promoting the Growth of Developing Statoacoustic Ganglion Neurons, JARO 6, 355-367.

Bianchi, L.M., *Huri, D., and *White, I.O. (2006) Embryonic inner ear cells use migratory mechanisms to establish cell patterns in vitro. J Neuro Res 83:191-198 and Cover Illustration.

Invited Chapters and Reviews

Fritzsch, B; Silos-Santiago, I; Bianchi, LM; and Farinas I (1997). The role of neurotrophic factors in regulating inner ear innervation. Trends in Neurosci. 20, 159-164.

Fritzsch, B; Silos-Santiago, I; Bianchi, LM; and Farinas I (1997). Effects of neurotrophin and neurotrophin receptor disruption on the afferent inner ear innervation. Sem. Cell and Dev. Biol. 8, 277-284.

Kelley, MW and Bianchi, LM (2001). Developmental and Neuronal Innervation of the Organ of Corti. Handbook of Auditory Neuroscience, J. Willet, Ed. CRC Press. pp. 137-156.

Bianchi, L.M. (2004) Embryonic Stem cells: What are they and why do scientists use them? ARO Short Course Supplement, 3-7.

Bianchi, L.M. and Raz, Y. (2004) Methods for Providing Therapeutic Agents to Treat Damaged Spiral Ganglion Neurons Current Drug Targets: CNS and Neurological Disorders. 3, 195-199.


Pervious and Current Funding

NIH/NIDCD "Molecular Control of Patterning in Inner Ear Development", Co- Investigator (KF Barald, University of Michigan, Principal Investigator). 12/04-11/09

NIH/NIDCD R15 "In Vitro Analysis of Embryonic Inner Ear Cells", Principal Investigator

NSF MRI "Acquisition of a Confocal Microscope", Principal Investigator. 8/01-8/04

Oberlin-Kalamazoo-University of Michigan Collaboration Grant, Principal Investigator

NSF RUI "Role of Eph Molecules in Cochlear and Vestibular Neurite Outgrowth", Principal Investigator

"Release of Neurotrophins by Embryonic and Adult Inner Ears", MUSC, University Research Committee, Principal Investigator.

NIH P50 DC00422 "Experimental and Clinical Studies of Presbyacusis" (John H. Mills, Program Director). Project 4: "Neurotrophins and the Aging Inner Ear", Principal Investigator.

NIH R03 DC03121 "Eph-related Molecules in Statoacoustic Ganglia Development", Principal Investigator.

Deafness Research Foundation "Eph Molecules in the Developing Inner Ear", Principal Investigator.