Jesse Jones

  • Associate Professor of Composition
  • Director, Division of Contemporary Music

Areas of Study


  • BM, Eastern Oregon University, 2005
  • MM in composition, University of Oregon, 2007
  • DMA in composition, Cornell University  


Performed extensively across North America, Europe, and Asia, the music of composer Jesse Jones has been described as “striking,…elegant and poised” (New York Times), “engaging…eerie, and well-written” (Los Angeles Times), “fascinating,“ and possessed of “the melodic earthiness of Britten” (New York Classical Review).

Jones’s music has been heard in venues such as Lincoln Center, Avery Fischer Hall, St. John’s Smith Square (London), the Muziekgebouw (Amsterdam), Glinka Hall (St. Petersburg), the Paul Hindemith Foundation (Switzerland), the American Academy in Rome (Italy), and the St. Matthäuskirche (Berlin), among other venues.

Winner of the Rome Prize and a Guggenheim Fellowship, Jones has received commissions and premieres from many of the world’s leading ensembles and soloists, including the Juilliard String Quartet, Ensemble Recherche (Germany), Scharoun Ensemble Berlin, the English Symphony Orchestra, Cochlea (Switzerland), and from Tanglewood, Aspen, the Barlow Endowment, and many others. He has been awarded prizes and fellowships from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, the Heckscher Foundation, and Aldeburgh Music’s Jerwood Foundation.

Jones holds a DMA in music composition from Cornell University. His music is commercially available on the Innova, Summit, Albany, Equilibrium, Bridge, and New Focus labels.

For more information about Jesse Jones, visit

He has received numerous accolades as both a composer and performer, including a Guggenheim Fellowship, the Elliott Carter Rome Prize in Composition from the American Academy in Rome, a Juilliard String Quartet Commission, a Tanglewood Commission, a Barlow Commission, the Charles Ives Scholarship from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, an EarShot New Music Reading with the New York Philharmonic under Alan Gilbert, and a fellowship in Aldeburgh Music’s “Jerwood Opera Writing Programme.” 

Fall 2022

Contemporary Chamber Music — APST 805

Spring 2023

Contemporary Chamber Music — APST 805