Politics Emeriti Faculty

Oberlin College recognizes its faculty members with emeritus status who have provided distinguished service to their academic department during their tenure.

The following professors from the Department of Politics have retired from Oberlin College. They remain engaged members of our politics community.

  • Paul Dawson 

    Professor of Politics Paul Dawson received a BA, MA, and PhD in political science from Michigan State University. His chief interest is in policy analysis, focusing on how leaders accumulate the “political capital” to be effective, and how students can learn to become such leaders. He has published a textbook on American politics and policy.

    He taught a First-Year Seminar on political leadership and various courses on American government especially public policy, electioneering, and the presidency.

    He received a Distinguished Teaching Award from Oberlin College in 2005.

  • Harry Hirsch 
  • Ronald Kahn 
  • Sonia Kruks 
  • Ben Schiff 
  • Harlan Wilson