Oberlin Welcomes The Cleveland Orchestra to Finney Chapel Oct. 3

September 25, 2017

By Erich Burnett

members of Cleveland Orchestra in finney chapel stage
Photo credit: Roger Mastroianni

Part of the Artist Recital Series, program celebrates the orchestra’s 100th anniversary with three pieces by Beethoven—and many pieces of cake.

The Cleveland Orchestra turns 100 this season, and Oberlin will host one of the beloved ensemble’s first anniversary celebrations.

The orchestra will perform in Finney Chapel at 8 p.m. Tuesday, October 3. Part of the Artist Recital Series at Oberlin, the program will feature three works by Beethoven: Coriolan Overture, Symphony No. 8 in F Major, and the iconic Symphony No. 5 in C Minor.

The performance marks the return to Oberlin of Music Director Franz Welser-Möst, who will conduct on campus for the first time since the 2011-12 season.

Immediately following the performance, all guests are invited to a reception in honor of the centennial.

A cornerstone of the Artist Recital Series, the incomparable Cleveland Orchestra has performed in Oberlin every year since 1919—some 240 concerts in all. The internationally celebrated ensemble traces its roots to the generosity of John Long Severance, an 1885 graduate of Oberlin College who created the Musical Arts Association, under which The Cleveland Orchestra was established in 1918.

Tickets for The Cleveland Orchestra at Oberlin are $35 ($30 for seniors, Oberlin staff, and alumni), and all student tickets are just $10. Prorated season ticket packages and Pick 3 options are also available. Learn more by calling 800-371-0178, stop by Oberlin’s Central Ticket Service (67 N. Main St.) from noon to 5 p.m. weekdays, or visit the tickets page at oberlin.edu.

The Artist Recital Series continues Sunday, November 12, with British pianist Benjamin Grosvenor. For more information on the arts at Oberlin, please visit oberlin.edu/artsguide.

You may also like…

Peter Takács Begins Three Concert Series of Beethoven’s Complete Violin Sonatas

December 9, 2022

Oberlin piano professor and avowed Beethoven devotee Peter Takács will be bringing the composer’s 10 violin sonatas to Kulas Recital Hall over the course of three concerts this academic year. The first edition, on Sunday, December 11, features three violinists on Oberlin’s faculty—Sibbi Bernhardsson and Verona Quartet violinists Jonathan Ong and Dorothy Ro—and guest artist Daniel Stepner.
man with glasses wearing a dark suite sits at the piano