Office of the Vice President, General Counsel and Secretary

The Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is the governing body of Oberlin College and Conservatory of Music. It manages the welfare of the institution and entrusts day-to-day operations to the president. Oberlin’s board has 29-37 members and completes its work through an executive committee and various subcommittees.

The board consists of 20-28 board-elected members and six alumni-elected members. Following a recent change in the bylaws, trustees elected or re-elected before July 1, 2013 serve six-year terms, while trustees elected thereafter serve four-year terms.

There are also three class trustees elected by recent graduating classes to serve three-year terms. The final member of the board is the president of Oberlin College, who serves ex officio (by nature of their position).

The entire board convenes four times a year in Oberlin.

The Executive Committee; the board chair, the board vice chair and the chairs of the major board subcommittees, convenes approximately one month prior to each meeting of the full board. The vice president, general counsel and secretary of the college is the primary liaison between the board and campus constituencies.

All communications intended for the Board of Trustees should be emailed to .