Brian Alegant

  • Professor of Music Theory

Areas of Study


  • BM, Philadelphia College of the Performing Arts, 1982
  • MM, Temple University, 1985
  • PhD, Eastman School of Music, 1993


In 2015, Brian Alegant was the first music professor to be named U.S. Professor of the Year by the Carnegie Endowment for the Advancement of Teaching and the Council for the Advancement and Support of Education.

He earned a PhD in music theory from the Eastman School of Music, master’s degrees in music theory and music history from Temple University, and a BM in piano performance from the Philadelphia College of the Performing Arts.

Before joining the Oberlin faculty, Alegant taught at McGill University from 1990-96.

He is a former editor of Music Theory Spectrum, former executive board member of the Society for Music Theory, and recipient of a 2006 Northeast Ohio Council on Higher Education Award for Teaching Excellence.

Alegant has published on a wide range of topics in Music Theory Spectrum, Journal of Music Theory, Perspectives of New Music, Music Analysis, Journal of Music Theory Pedagogy, Intégral, and Nineteenth-Century Music Review.

His book on the twelve-tone music of Luigi Dallapiccola was published by the University of Rochester Press.

His research interests include performance and analysis, pedagogy, and twelve-tone music.

He has received fellowships from the National Endowment for the Humanities (1999-00), the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (1993-96), and the Mellon foundations (2003)

Spring 2024

Aural Skills IV — MUTH 202
Music of the 20th and 21st Centuries — MUTH 370


Brian Alegant Publishes

November 9, 2015

Brian Alegant, director of music theory and Barker Professor of music theory, published the article “Dallapiccola’s Second Thoughts: The Epilogue to the Concerto per la notte di Natale dell’anno 1956” in an early view version of Music Analysis.