2023 Cooper International Piano Competition Field Narrowed to Seven Pianists

Concerto round will take place with two performances Wednesday August 2.

August 1, 2023

Shelly Rasmussen

Cooper Competition graphic with seven small photos

Three pianists will earn the opportunity to perform with The Cleveland Orchestra August 4 at Severance Hall.

After two days of nineteen semifinal performances, each consisting of 40-minute programs, the jury has selected seven pianists to move on to the Concerto Round. The Concerto Round on Wednesday features the pianists in performances of a full concerto, with piano accompaniment. Our finalists range in age from 13 to 18 years old and represent seven countries.

The following musicians have been selected to advance:

Andrew Sijie Li, 15, Boston, Massachusetts | Canada & Hong Kong
L. V. BEETHOVEN Concerto No. 3 in C Minor, Op. 37

Sophia Shuya Liu, 14, Montreal, Quebec | Canada
C. SAINT-SAENS Concerto No. 2 in G Minor, Op. 22

Yanyan Bao, 16, Zhuhai, Guangdong | China
F. CHOPIN Concerto No. 2 in F Minor, Op. 21

Filip Trifu, 18, Vienna | Austria
R. SCHUMANN Concerto in A Minor, Op. 54

Seoeun Lee, 14, Suwon, Gyeonggi, South Korea
F. CHOPIN Concerto No. 1 in E Minor, Op. 11

Taige Wang, 13, New York, New York | United States
S. RACHMANINOFF: Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini, Op. 43

Pyotr Akulov, 16, Moscow | Russia
F. LISZT Concerto No. 1 in E-flat Major, S. 124

Each pianist will perform on Wednesday, August 2 for the chance to perform in Friday’s Concerto Finals. The Concerto Round will be held in two sessions at 2:00 p.m. and 7:00 p.m., Wednesday, August 2 at Warner Concert Hall. The concerts are free and open to the public and available via livestream. The schedule is available at the Cooper Competition website.

Following the Concerto Round on August 3, the jury will determine the three pianists that will perform in the Finals in Cleveland on Friday, August 4. This is the culmination of the week’s competition and will showcase the artists performing complete concertos with The Cleveland Orchestra under the direction of David Robertson at Severance Music Center's Mandel Concert Hall. 

At the conclusion of the evening, one participant will be named the Cooper champion, and win a grand prize of $20,000. 

Tickets for the Friday, August 4, 7:30 p.m. Severance Hall Final Concerto performance can be purchased at Clevelandorchestra.com. Tickets start at just $15 and students under 18 years old are free with a paying adult. More information can be found at the Cleveland Orchestra website or by calling 800-686-1141.

Details about the participants, jurors, and schedules for each round can be found at the official Cooper Competition website.

Follow the Cooper Competition on Facebook and Instagram for photos, behind-the-scenes action, and up-to-date information.

You may also like…