Tuesday, February 20, 2018
8:00 pm to 10:00 pm
Fairchild Chapel

50 W. Lorain St.
Oberlin, OH 44074

Get Directions

A guest recital by the Flanders Recorder Quartet, an ensemble founded in 1987 that specializes in music and recordings of an instrument that was underestimated for two centuries: the recorder.

In their extraordinary collection are reproductions after illustrations by Virdung (1511), after originals from the collection of Henry VIII, a Baroque contrabass recorder some 2.3 meters in length (which was built by Friedrich von Huene, Boston), and modern recorders by Hans Coolsma, Utrecht.

Their extensive collection of instruments and highly virtuosic performance of a richly varied program makes each concert an unforgettable experience and allows the recorder to shine in its former splendor.

Read more about the quartet.



Hymnodia Sionia (1611)                                                Michael Praetorius

      Summa Parenti Gloria                                                             


Meditation and Fire (2015*)                                                   Pieter Campo


Suite 15 from Banchetto Musicale (1617)                 Johann Herman Schein

      Padouana à 5                                                                          

      Gagliarda à 5

      Courente à 5

      Allemande e Tripla à 4


Concerto VI in E Minor                                Joseph Bodin de Boismortier

      Pour 5 Flûtes, Op. 15 (1727)                                                





- Intermission -


Inxaxheba (2016*)                                                                      Sören Sieg

      Yitsho, yintoni ulonwabo                                                               




Fantasia in C Major, BWV 570                 Johann Sebastian Bach

      Fuga in C Major, BWV 545                           


Ella’s Blues (2005*)                                                               Jeroen d’Hoe


Sing, Sing, Sing (With a Swing) (1936)                                    Louis Prima


* commissioned by Flanders Recorder Quartet

Event Contact

Concert Production

You may also like…