Academic departments and offices will offer their students opportunities to attend virtual events during Senior Week, May 17-23. Activities range from academic open houses to readings and virtual games to recognition programs. If you would like to attend any of these events and have not received an invite, please reach out to the contact person indicated by each event. Senior Week is the precursor to this year’s Commencement Experience on May 25.


Monday, May 25, 2020

10 a.m. Commencement Celebration

To mark Commencement day, Monday, May 25, we will honor our graduates with a virtual celebration featuring President Ambar and Board of Trustees Chair T. Chris Canavan '84. We will also release the Class of 2020 Time Capsule & Virtual Yearbook. This event will be pre-recorded and posted to the commencement website at 10:00 a.m. EDT on Monday, May 25. You may also view 2020 Commencement on our Vimeo channel.

Sunday, May 24, 2020

10:30 a.m. “The Certainty of Oberlin” featuring President Carmen Twillie Ambar

President Ambar will give her state-of-the-college address “The Certainty of Oberlin”. This will be pre-recorded and posted at 10:30 a.m. EDT on Sunday, May 24th on the commencement website so people across the world can watch at a time that is most convenient for them. To watch, visit State of the College Address 2020.

11 a.m. Cinema Studies Open House

Contact: William Patrick Day pday@oberlin.edu

12 p.m. Musical Studies Open House

Contact: Kathryn Metz kmetz@oberlin.edu

1 p.m. Multifaith Baccalaureate Celebration

Poster titled On Parting Again: Saying Goodbye During the Coronavirus Pandemic. The six speakers, named in the following paragraph, are pictured.

The Office of Religious and Spiritual Life will host a virtual Baccalaureate Ceremony beginning at 1 p.m. on Sunday, May 24. “On Parting Again: Saying Goodbye During the Coronavirus Pandemic,” features a student panel representing different faith traditions. Panelists will include Nathan Carpenter (nonreligious), Madeleine Gefke (Christian), Noa Gordon-Guterman (Jewish), Lyala Khan (pluralist), and Kenneth Kitahata (Buddhist). Rising-senior Ivy Miller will facilitate. President Ambar will offer a welcome; music will be provided by violinist Riley Calcagno, who performs both classical and roots music.

To watch, go to the Commencement homepage or visit Baccalaureate 2020 on our Vimeo channel.

Contact: David Dorsey ddorsey@oberlin.edu

2 p.m. English Open House

Contact: Gillian Johns gijohns@oberlin.edu

2 p.m. Sociology Open House

Contact: Greggor Mattson gmattson@oberlin.edu

2 - 3:30 p.m. Creative Writing Program Open House

Contact: DeSales Harrison desalesh@gmail.com 

2 - 4 p.m. Russian/REES Open House

Contact: Tom Newlin tnewlin@oberlin.edu

3 p.m. Gender, Sexuality, and Feminist Studies Open House

Contact: Greggor Mattson gmattson@oberlin.edu

3 p.m. TIMARA Open House

Contact: Abby Aresty aaresty@oberlin.edu

3 p.m. Anthropology Department and Archaeological Studies Program Open House

Contact: Amy Margaris amy.margaris@oberlin.edu

4 p.m. Posse Scholars X Commencement Reception

Contact: Meredith Gadsby meredith.gadsby@oberlin.edu

7 p.m. Social on the Square and Illumination

Thumbnail image of the Illumination photo story websiteSocial on the Square and Illumination have a long tradition at Oberlin College. This year, we bring that tradition to you.

View the Illumination photo gallery

8 p.m. Bonner Graduation Celebration

Contact: Brandi McVety bmcvety@oberlin.edu

8 p.m. Stay On It Zoom Discussion - Celebrating the Class of 2020

To celebrate the class of 2020, Oberlin Conservatory of Music has created a digital performance of Julius Eastman's Stay On It. Join a Zoom discussion with some of the staff and students involved in this project to learn how these now-common "tiled" videos come together, from an artistic and production perspective.

Watch Stay On It

Contact: Leah Brockman Leah.Brockman@oberlin.edu

Ongoing

Cinema Studies Screening: The Best Student Films of the Year

This special program features the best Oberlin student narrative, documentary, and experimental films of 2019-20. It has been curated in two parts: pre-COVID and post-COVID films. All are welcome.

Learn more and watch the student films

Film poster shows a man in a tie and white shirt walking alone on a street.Faculty Film Screening (through Friday, May 29)

The Return of Elder Pingree — Memoir of a Departed Mormon, a film by Professor of Cinema Studies and English Geoff Pingree, premiered at the 2019 Santa Cruz Film Festival.

Learn more and watch the film

Multicultural Resource CenterMulticultural Resource Center Events

Congratulations to the Class of 2020! To celebrate our graduates, enjoy the congratulatory slideshows! For the best viewing experience, we suggest using Google Chrome.

For more information on all MRC events please contact Zahida Sherman zsherman@oberlin.edu

Sunday, May 17, 2020

The Virtual Obies

Please join us for the Oberlin College Department of Athletics 9th annual awards ceremony. The virtual ObieAwards ceremony will air live on YouTube at 7 p.m. EDT on Sunday, May 17. Head to www.goyeo.com for the link the day of.


Monday, May 18, 2020

4 p.m. Comparative Literature Happy Hour

Contact: Kirk Ormand kormand@oberlin.edu


Tuesday, May 19, 2020

3 p.m. Africana Studies Senior Sendoff

Contact: David Divins ddivins@oberlin.edu

9 p.m. Senior Trivia Night

Register online to participate!

Contact: Jessica Bayer Crissman jbayer@oberlin.edu and Thom Julian tjulian@Oberlin.edu


Thursday, May 21, 2020

1 p.m. Undergraduate Research Sendoff

Contact: Diana Tebo dtebo@oberlin.edu

3 p.m. Neuroscience Open House

Contact: Tracie Paine tpaine@oberlin.edu

7:30–9:30 p.m. Chemistry and Biochemistry Open House

Contact: Rachel Wysocki rachel.wysocki@oberlin.edu

8:30 p.m. Politics Department Class of 2020 Celebration

Contact: Steve Crowley scrowley@oberlin.edu


Friday, May 22, 2020

11 a.m. YeoFit EmPOWER Yoga

Join Lisa Thuer for some YeoFit Empower Yoga!

2 - 4 p.m. East Asian Studies Open House

Contact: Dale Alexander dalexan3@oberlin.edu

3 p.m. Virtual Keyes Metcalf (OC 1911) Recognition Ceremony for Libraries Student Employees

Contact: Polly Bratton pbratton@oberlin.edu
Who was Keyes Metcalf?

View the Virtual Senior Art Exhibition4 p.m. Virtual Senior Art Exhibition

A year-end show focused on the work of Studio department senior majors. 
View the Virtual Senior Art Exhibition

5 - 7:30 p.m. Creative Writing Capstone Readings

Join us for 15 minutes, an hour, or the whole time - students will be presenting their capstones every 5-10 minutes! Register here.
Contact: Emily Barton ebarton@oberlin.edu and Joyce Marshall jmarsha2@oberlin.edu


Saturday, May 23, 2020

1 p.m. Dance Open House

Contact: Kathy Drennan kathy.drennan@oberlin.edu

1 p.m. Theater Open House

Contact: Kathy Drennan kathy.drennan@oberlin.edu

2 p.m. Latin American Studies Open House

Contact: Kristina Mani kmani@oberlin.edu

3 p.m. Geology Open House

Contact: Zeb Page zeb.page@oberlin.edu

4 p.m. French and Italian Open House

Contact: Blanche Villar blanche.villar@oberlin.edu