Zoombombing is a new form of trolling in which a participant uses Zoom’s screensharing and chat features to interrupt and disrupt meetings and classes. Below are some strategies you can use to prevent and manage Zoombombing attempts in your virtual meetings.

The following measures will increase the security of your Zoom sessions and reduce the chance of unwanted attendees. We recommend using as many of these options as you reasonably can without impacting your meeting operations. If you are discussing any sensitive or confidential information in your meetings, these measures become that much more important.

Tips from Zoom: How to Keep the Party Crashers from Crashing Your Zoom Event

How to Prevent Zoombombing

Set a Password

It's highly recommended that you set a strong password for all meetings.

Adding a Password to a New Meeting

When scheduling a meeting, under Meeting Options, select Require meeting password, then specify a strong password (make your password at least eight characters long and use at least three of the following types of characters: lowercase letters, uppercase letters, numbers, symbols). Participants will be asked for this password in order to join your meeting.

Adding a Password to an Existing Meeting

If you add a password to a meeting that is already scheduled, the meeting URL will change. You will need to copy the meeting invitation and share it with participants again in whatever method you originally used (pasted into a calendar event, shared in a Blackboard course, or emailed).

Use a Waiting Room

The Waiting Room feature allows the host to control when each participant joins the meeting. As the meeting host, you can admit attendees one by one, or hold all attendees in the virtual waiting room and admit them en masse. This requires more work by the host, but only allows participants to join if you specifically admit them.

Beginning April 1, the Waiting Room will be automatically enabled for new meetings. You can also turn on the Waiting Room for meetings you have already scheduled.

This feature, combined with requiring a password to enter, can help prevent “Zoombombing” of your classes.

Disable Join Before Host

If you are scheduling a meeting where sensitive information will be discussed, it's best to leave Enable join before host (found under Meeting Options when scheduling a meeting) turned off. Visit Zoom's Join Before Host help page for more information.

The Join Before Host option can be convenient for allowing others to continue with a meeting if you are not available to start it, but with this option enabled, the first person who joins the meeting will automatically be made the host and will have full control over the meeting.

Meeting Security When Scheduling Zoom Meetings Using Your Google Calendar

If you add a Zoom meeting to your calendar, note that the calendar entry may include the Zoom meeting password. If you have set up your calendar so that it is open for colleagues to view the details of your meetings, this can expose the password to anyone who views your calendar. You can protect the password by making the calendar entry private or editing the entry to remove the Zoom meeting password.

Remove Participants from a Meeting

You can dismiss a participant from the meeting. They won't be able to rejoin unless you allow participants and panelists to rejoin

If you have already begun a session and find an unwanted attendee has joined:

  1. If the Participants panel is not visible, click Manage Participants at the bottom of the Zoom window.
  2. Next to the person you want to remove, click More.
  3. From the list that appears, click Remove.

Lock a Meeting

The Zoom Host Controls allow the host or co-host to lock the meeting. Once all your attendees have joined,

  1. If the Participants panel is not visible, click Manage Participants at the bottom of the Zoom window.
  2. At the bottom of the Participants panel, click More.
  3. From the list that appears, click Lock Meeting.

Unlock the meeting following these same steps.

When a meeting is locked, no one can join, and you (the host or co-host) will NOT be alerted if anyone tries to join, so don't lock the meeting until everyone has joined.

Content on this website was inspired by content from Cornell University.