Championship Material

One of the most successful teams in the North Coast Athletic Conference in the 1990s, Oberlin's women's lacrosse team entered the season as two-time defending champions and winner of three of the last four conference titles. With an overall record of 10-7 and a conference mark of 5-2, the Yeowomen reached the NCAC tournament championship game for the fifth consecutive year.

The Yeowomen opened the tournament with a 17-5 win over Allegheny College, landing them a semifinal meeting with second seed Ohio Wesleyan University, a rematch of the 1997 championship game that the Yeowomen won 18-4. Oberlin overcame a 5-3 halftime deficit and walked away with an 11-8 victory over the Bishops. Facing top seed Denison University in the championship match for the second time in two seasons, the Yeowomen fell short in their bid for a third straight title, 16-8.

Leading Oberlin this season was senior midfielder Kim Allen, who was a first-team All-NCAC selection and named the NCAC Offensive Player of the Year. Allen led Oberlin and was second in the conference in scoring with 4.59 points per game and was third in goals per game with 3.65. Allen's top performance this season was a 10-point, eight-goal outburst against the College of Wooster, which tied the school record for points and goals in a game. Her 78 points this season was six shy of the team mark set by Elizabeth Barry in 1997.

Joining Allen as All-NCAC selections are senior midfielder Cecily Beane, junior attack Lydia Ries, junior midfielder Maggie McFalls, junior defense Irit Altman, and senior attack Amy Keith. Beane and Ries were named to the first team, while McFalls and Altman were tabbed as second-team selections and Keith honorable mention.

Senior midfielder Kim Allen (left, number 12) led the Yeowomen and was named NCAC Offensive Player of the Year.

Next Story: BEST FINISH EVER: Women's Track and Field Team Reigns Supreme

Back to the ATS July ’99 Table of Contents

On to Staff Box