Each quilt block is one of 30 blocks from the Oberlin Quilt, now displayed in Mudd Library, Oberlin. The postcards of these quilt blocks became popular in the 1980's, and continue to circulate.
Old Oberlin Motto: This has been an Oberlin motto since 1834 and hangs still in the Oberlin Inn as a reminder of Oberlin's tradition of learning and labor. The quilt block was made by Mary Montgomery.
Peter Pindar Pease Cabin & Historic Elm: First Oberlin dwelling, built in 1835 beside an elm which survived until 1965 at the intersection of Main and College Streets. This quilt block was made by Ann Livingston.
The Dorothy Daub House: This fine early Oberlin home is nestled between Wilder Hall and Mudd Library, at 145 W. Lorain St. This quilt block was made by Jean Tufts.
Underground Railroad: A slave family, escaping to Canada by traveling at night on the Underground Railroad, arrives at a "station" in Oberlin. In the background is the home of James Monroe whose work was devoted to the repeal of unjust slave laws. This quilt block was made by Bobbie Carlson.
Westervelt: Postcard in memory of Jean Tufts. Oberlin's second Union school, built in 1823, has been "restored" in fabric by the addition of the cupola, now missing from the building itself. This quilt block was made by Jean Tufts.
Illumination Night: One of the fine old traditions of the Oberlin College commencement time. This quilt block was made by Mary Burwell Jones.
Oberlin Bicyclers: From the "high-wheelers" of the 1880's to the 10-speeds of the 1980's, Oberlin has been a town of bicyclers. This quilt block was made by Audrey Pearson.