contact us


Conservatory Home


Artist Recital Series Presents the Cleveland Orchestra, with Conductor David Robertson and Pianist Yefim Bronfman, April 27

by Marci Janas '91



Conductor David Robertson

The Cleveland Orchestra, long considered one of America’s great orchestras, stands today among the world’s most revered symphonic ensembles. Upon beginning his tenure as music director with the orchestra this past season, Franz Welser-Möst said, “It is an honor to be entrusted with the leadership of this great orchestra.” Oberlin College’s Artist Recital Series presents this “great orchestra” in a special matinee concert Sunday, April 27, at 3 p.m. in Finney Chapel.

Conductor David Robertson will lead the orchestra in performances of Bartôk’s Dance Suite and Piano Concerto no. 2, with soloist Yefim Bronfman. Rachmaninoff’s Symphonic Dances completes the program.

Piano Soloist Yefim Bronfman

Reserved seating tickets are $10 for students; $22 for senior citizens, educators, and those with an Oberlin College I.D.; and $26 for the general public. Please call Oberlin’s Central Ticket Service, 440-775-8169, to purchase advance tickets; those sold at the door will incur an additional charge.

For 124 years, the Artist Recital Series, sponsored by the Oberlin Conservatory of Music at Oberlin College with additional support from the Friends of the Artist Recital Series, has brought distinguished, world-renowned musicians to Finney Chapel on Oberlin's campus. Media sponsorship for the Artist Recital Series is provided by WCLV 104.9-FM, Cleveland's classical music radio station, and WCPN 90.3-FM, Ideastream.

Back to the Backstage Pass

footer colorcommentse-mailsearchsealhome