Artist Recital Series

Miró Quartet

Thursday, March 10, 2016, 8 p.m.

Tickets: $30 public, $25 seniors, OC staff, faculty, and alumni, $10 students (purchase tickets)
Location: Finney Chapel (reserved seating, directions)

Now in its 18th year, the Miró Quartet is consistently praised for its deeply musical interpretations, exciting performances, and thoughtful programming. Each season, the ensemble performs on the most important chamber music series and on the most prestigious concert stages, garnering accolades from critics and audiences alike.

Formed in 1995, the Miró Quartet took first prizes at many national and international competitions including the Banff International String Quartet Competition and the Naumburg Chamber Music Competition. In 2005, it became the first ensemble ever to be awarded the coveted Avery Fisher Career Grant. Deeply committed to music education, members of the Miró Quartet have given master classes at universities and conservatories throughout the world, and have served as quartet in residence at the University of Texas at Austin since 2003.

The quartet derives its name from the Spanish artist Joan Miró, whose surrealist works—with subject matter drawn from the realm of memory and imaginative fantasy—are some of the most original of the 20th century.


L. v. Beethoven
Quartet in F Major, Op. 59, No. 1, "Razumovsky"
Quartet in E minor, Op. 59, No. 2, "Razumovsky"
Quartet in C Major, Op. 59, No. 3, "Razumovsky"

Photo by Michael Carter