This record group contains films of various reel sizes produced
by Oberlin College, made both for promotional use and historical
record. Tape and video recordings are also included.
Scope and Content
Approximately ten films, 1927-1957, deal with subjects that can
be specifically linked to architectural history. Within these ten
films are views and details of buildings that can be divided into
three main subjects: structures that are no longer standing, dormitories
and housing, and present college buildings. From the first category
are scenes of the old Chemistry Laboratory, and Second Congregational
Church, Spear Library-Laboratory, Warner Conservatory, the Zoology
Laboratory. Dormitories and housing depictions include: Burton,
Dascomb, Elmwood House, Fairchild, the Goodrich House, Harkness,
the Mens dormitory complex, and unnamed private boarding houses.
Present college and community buildings include Allen Memorial Art
Museum, Allen Memorial Hospital, Bosworth Hall, Carnegie Library,
Cox Administration Building, Crane Pool, Finney Chapel, First Church,
Hall Auditorium, the Memorial Arch, Peters Hall, Severance Chemical
Laboratory, Westervelt Hall, and Wright Physics Laboratory.
In the video tape collection, three productions document Oberlins
architectural history. Their titles are The Dedication of the William
A. Moffett Auditorium (May 6, 1995); How Buildings Tell the Story
by Geoffrey Blodgett (October 8, 1995), and The Oberlin Experience
(1993?). The latter video is a production of the Office of Conference